• Title: Commune
  • Author: Joshua Gayou
  • Published: 2017

Commune: Book One is the story of one small group of survivors who must adapt to a primitive, hostile world or die. As they learn the rules of this new era, they must decide how far they’re willing to go to continue living, continually asking themselves the same question daily: is survival worth the loss of humanity?

My Photo [Commune]

When I started reading Commune, I noticed a couple of minor technical issues. There were some grammatical errors, and the narrative occasionally swapped tenses by accident. Also, some words were written with excessive letters or punctuation, like thiiiiiiis????!!!! As a reader, I urge writers not to do this. It may look as if it expresses deeper meaning, I assure you it does not; I read it as this? or this! regardless of how many extra letters or punctuation marks have been added.*

*I covered these writing tips in a different book review last year, which you can read here:

However, looking past these technical issues, I really enjoyed the story behind Commune. It had all the great conventions of a dystopian, apocalyptic narrative – scavenging, survival, and strange encounters.

I was also thrilled at the relationship dynamic between Amanda and Jake. Their narratives begin at different places in the novel, and have separate paths until eventually uniting. It was hard to follow the (sometimes length) chapters that followed their individual stories, but once they joined forces, I loved their pairing together. It was refreshing to have a stronger female character who builds up a close relationship to a male without it being reduced to a love story.

When I first read the synopsis of Commune, I thought it sounded similar to Cormac McCarthy’s The Road – an incredibly bleak survival story of a father and his son. Yet I didn’t find Commune particularly bleak. Albeit, there were moments of sadness and occasional danger, but the characters were never really lacking serious supplies and I thought their journey was relatively straightforward.

For a truly bleak dystopian, I would have preferred there to be a serious threat looming over the characters from the start – there were some mentions of an ominous Plague, but I don’t think this was explored enough to be seen as dangerous.

Although Gayou wanted Commune to focus on a human survival story, rather than a supernatural one, I couldn’t help but long for a subhuman threat, like the cannibalistic gangs from The Road or the zombie hoards from The Walking Dead.

Overall, Gayou lays a good foundation for future books about this world and the characters he’s created. Whilst I have my criticisms (as every book reviewer should), this was still a good read, and an enjoyable new dystopian novel.

Star Rating: 4/5 Stars

Commune: Book One is available to buy as an e-book or a paperback from Amazon.com or Amazon UK.

***

Thank you for reading my review!

Many thanks to Joshua Gayou, who sent me a copy of Commune to read for free. His website is: joshuagayou.wordpress.com.

If you enjoyed this review, please click ‘Like’ and don’t forget to ‘Follow’ for more book reviews.

– Judith

 

One thought on “[BONUS] Read and Review: COMMUNE by JOSHUA GAYOU @JoshuaGayou #BookReview #Dystopian

  1. Reblogged this on Joshua Gayou and commented:
    A very big thank you goes out to Judith at readandreview2016.wordpress.com for her incredibly thoughtful review of my book. Glad to see she enjoyed it and also got some good stuff to consider for future efforts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

