Happy Blogmas!

Am I writing another craft-related blog post? Yes, yes I am.

People particularly associate gingerbread with Christmas, although I could eat it all year round. I’m no Mary Berry, but gingerbread is one of the few things I can bake with a degree of proficiency. I’m a huge fan of the site BBC Good Food, and it’s my first port of call whenever I’m trying to find a trustworthy recipe for a baking simpleton like myself.

my-photo-gingerbread

This year, I made a batch of gingerbread stars for my family (you can make a gingerbread slab, or simply choose any other shaped cutter that takes your fancy). The recipe I used this year was:

Ingredients:

  • 225g (8oz) of plain flour 
  • 2 teaspoons of bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 heaped teaspoon of ground ginger*
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of cinnamon*
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 100g (4 oz) of sugar
  • 4 tablespoons of golden syrup 
  • 50g (2 oz) of butter

*In hindsight, I really don’t feel this is enough spices for the gingebread; they weren’t as ginger-y as they’ve been on previous occasions with other recipes, and these measurements give them more of a ginger-y hint than a ginger-y kick, but it’s down to personal preference. 

Method:

1. Pre-heat the oven to Gas Mark 5 (about 180 degrees) and grease your baking trays

2. Sift together the flour, salt, bicarbonate of soda and spices

3. Melt the butter, sugar and golden syrup in a man then leave to cool

4. Once cooled, mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients until it forms a dough

5. Cover the dough with cling-film and chill in the fridge for 30 minutes

6. Lightly flour a work surface, then roll out your dough to about 1/4 of an inch (about 1/2 of a cm) thickness and use cookie-cutters to cut out and shape your biscuits

7. Place your biscuit shapes onto the baking trays, allowing space for spreading

8. Cook for about 10-15 minutes**

**I’ve found that for me, around 12 minutes is the ideal time. Also, take into consideration the thickness of your biscuit shapes, if you’ve made them quite thin, they’ll take less time to cook and will be crunchier so be careful not to burn them. 


And there you have it! If you decide to use this recipe, let me know how your biscuits turned out!

I’d love to be more creative with my gingerbread baking in the future, perhaps trying out recipes for gingerbread bunting, gingerbread Christmas jumpers, or gingerbread wreaths. Maybe next year…


This is my final blog post of 2016! I hope you enjoyed it. You can catch up on any Blogmas posts you’ve missed here and don’t forget to ‘Like’ or ‘Follow’ me – think of it as your Christmas gift to me 😉

Merry Christmas!

– Judith

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Blogmas Day #12: Festive Gingerbread Biscuits

Leave a Reply

