This is the penultimate day of my 12 Days of Blogmas series!  I can’t believe how quickly the time has flown. On Sunday, I listed my Top 3 Christmas Carols, but I also like to listen to some pop music as well; there’ve been so many Christmas classics over the years.

1. Michael Bublé, Christmas (2012)

I only listen to Michael Bublé at Christmas time – he has the perfect voice for so many Christmas songs. However, there’s no point in pretending that I can choose just one of his songs as my favourite. I love his entire album (although I’m not sold on his rendition of Jingle Bells)! Truth be told, I’ve been listening to Christmas on Spotify since late November….

2. Paul McCartney, Wonderful Christmas Time (1979)

Despite being a child of the ‘90s, I grew up listening to The Beatles thanks to our Year 6 teacher. We grew to love a number of Beatles hits, so when I first heard Wonderful Christmas Time, McCartney’s voice reminded me of The Beatles’ days and, of course, I loved it.

3. The Darkness – Christmas Time (Don’t Let The Bells End) (2003)

As The Darkness are a rock band, I listened to them in and amongst other rock and metal bands when, like all teenagers, I went through the inevitable “emo” phase. In many ways, the “phase” has stuck with me, as I listen to the same genre of music as I did then. Christmas Time (Don’t Let The Bells End)  is festive enough but still rock-y, allowing me to keep up with the same genres of music, even at Christmas-time.

Honourable Mentions: 

These are some more classic Christmas pop songs that were always played at every school disco.

  • Fairytale Of New York (The Pogues & Kirsty McColl, 1988)
  • All Alone on Christmas (Darlene Love, 1992) [This was on the Home Alone 2 soundtrack]
  • Merry Christmas Everybody (Slade, 1985)
  • I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday (Wizzard, 1973)

That’s it for Blogmas Day 11! What are your favourite Christmas pop songs?

– Judith

One thought on “12 Days of Blogmas Day #11: Top 3 Christmas Songs

Leave a Reply

