Happy Blogmas! This isn’t a book review, film review or book-themed post at all (!)
I haven’t posted a crafty blog post since Star Wars Day, so I thought I’d change that.

I first made this fun Santa Claus craft in Year 4 of primary school, so I would have been around 7 or 8 years old. Looking back, I can say it doesn’t look *amazing*, but I was so proud of myself anyway because I’ve always thought of origami as a particularly difficult thing to master. Each year my mum would hang this on our Christmas Tree until, tragically, she lost it! I was devastated, and couldn’t find the instructions to make the same style of Santa for absolutely ages. When, I finally tracked down similar instructions and made a replacement Santa, the original reappeared that same Christmas! We now have two Origami Santas in the house.

my-photo-origami-santa-1 my-photo-origami-santa-2

I thought I’d share the instructions with you as part of my Blogmas series, if you’d like to try out this craft for yourself, or with your family.

Admittedly, I didn’t write the instructions myself but I found them on Shorty’s blog @ blazingardor.wordpress.com – hence why I’ve chosen to reblog.

Enjoy!

– Judith

Blazing Ardor

Origami Santa – How to guide
as requested by Meredith 🙂

Santa’s Head
IMG_4621

1. Get a standard size origami paper, red on one side, plain on the other.
IMG_4622

2. Fold one edge in 1/2cm

IMG_4623

3. Fold joining side 1/2 cm.

IMG_46244. Fold um corner where the folded sides meet 1-1.5cm and fold opposite corner 1/2 cm in.

IMG_4625

5. Fold joining corner back 2mm from edge.

IMG_4626

6. Turn over your piece of paper

IMG_4627

7. Fold left corner 3/4 of the way across the paper on an angle making sure that you can see some of the white on the top point.

IMG_4628

8. Fold right side along the crease that you created by folding the left side.

IMG_4629

9. Fold point down on an angle to the left so that it sits just above the folded white strip.
Your Santa’s head is now done and you can draw a face or beard on…

View original post 173 more words

Leave a Reply

