I’m halfway through my 12 Days of Blogmas series, meaning it’s just one week until Christmas! If you haven’t already, I’m sure you’ll end up attending some kind of Christmas event where carols are sung – be it a nativity play, a carol concert, or being visited by carollers. As it happens, I went to a carol service this evening!

I have some favourite carols I love to listen to and sing around the festive period, so I thought I’d share them with you.

1. O Holy Night

This is a really beautiful song , that I personally don’t think is favoured enough in carol services. Other classics such as Silent Night always seem to take precedence. I like the slower pace than other carols, and I think when sung classically, it always sounds lovely.

2. As With Gladness Men of Old

This another less well-known carol, perhaps, and again, I like this one for inexplicable reasons. My favourite lines are in the final verse: ‘Thou its Light, its Joy, its Crown, Thou its Sun which goes not down’ for no drastically striking reasons. These lines allude to the parallel between God and the light and goodness of Heaven, as described in Revelation in The Bible. I also like the rhymes and the formal and archaic structure of these particular lines.

3. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen

I didn’t use to like this particular carol (I have no idea why) but now, I find it so enjoyable to sing. I’ve heard classic, jazzy, and acapella versions of this song and I really like the different ways it can be performed. Here’s the popular acapella group Pentatonix’s cover of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen for you to enjoy:


That’s it for Blogmas Day 6! What are your favourite Christmas carols?

– Judith

4 thoughts on “12 Days of Blogmas 2016 Day #6: Top 3 Christmas Carols

  1. Good call with As With Gladness – I really love that line too, I’m not sure why!

    As to my own favourites, O Come, O Come, Emmanuel, if that counts as a carol – I’m always surprised to remember it follows the O Antiphons in its verses. Adam Lay Ybounden is another fave – love the texture of Middle English. And the Cherry Tree Carol, possibly for its resolute strangeness and crow-bar rhymes…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

