Welcome back! This is the final day of my 3 Day Quote Challenge.

You can read my quote choices from Day 1 and Day 2, respectively. All three quotes are from The Problem of Pain by C.S. Lewis.

Here is my final quote:

‘You would like to know how I behave when I am experiencing pain, not writing books about it… But what is the good of telling you about my feelings? You know them already: they are the same as yours.’ 

Have you ever read something so powerful that it feels like it’s kicked you in the gut? That “wow, this speaks directly to me” reaction? It’s difficult to put into words, but that instinctive, gut, kick in the stomach, “pow” feeling was exactly what I got when I read this passage.

For me, C.S. Lewis was talking directly to me. He emphasises that no matter how different we all think we are, we are all still human, we all still feel emotion – whether it’s pain or joy. No matter how many different stories of people’s lives and suffering we read of, we will always be able to relate in some way. And somehow, that makes the ideas of feeling pain, feeling sadness or just plain scared… a little less scary.

 – Judith

5 thoughts on “3 Day Quote Challenge [2] Day #3

  1. He shares the “how it feels” in “A Grief Observed,” his notes on how he felt after his wife, Joy, died. It’s a very honest, deep yet relatable look on the moments of agony and suffering and the thoughts that he had as he was going through it all–and how he found some comfort in the midst of his troubles. Though I don’t know if it’ll be the best thing to read if you, yourself, have recently gone through the same feelings during other, difficult trials. It could give voice to pain, but also make it harder to move past it, which was what he felt and why he decided to wrap up the writing and not keep going.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a huge C.S. Lewis fan. The Problem of Pain is one of my favorites by this author. I remember reading and feeling the same way. Like I had been kicked in the gut a few times. This book was very eye-opening to me, and he explained pain pretty well. Thanks for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

