Welcome back to my Monster Book Challenge! This week I’ll be releasing a series of book reviews, each one of a book based on a different monster! Today’s chosen monster is… Zombies!

  • Title: Frankenstein
  • Author: Mary Shelley
  • Published: 1818

Okay, I know Frankenstein’s Monster isn’t technically a zombie, but I really wanted to talk about some classic Gothic horror, especially at Halloween.

I really like the plot synopsis given on Goodreads, so I’ll pop it here:

“At once a Gothic thriller, a passionate romance, and a cautionary tale about the dangers of science, Frankenstein tells the story of committed science student Victor Frankenstein. Obsessed with discovering the cause of generation and life and bestowing animation upon lifeless matter, Frankenstein assembles a human being from stolen body parts but; upon bringing it to life, he recoils in horror at the creature’s hideousness. Tormented by isolation and loneliness, the once-innocent creature turns to evil and unleashes a campaign of murderous revenge against his creator, Frankenstein.”

Although I’m a self-professed lover of Gothic horror and Classics, I actually found Frankenstein quite a disappointment.

Despite Victor’s obsession with grave-digging and the creation of the undead, the description and language Shelley used hardly struck me as truly Gothic. I was expecting gory details and gruesome imagery, but the language was so vague that in some places, I had to read passages twice just to realise the scene was about a dead body.

I also didn’t enjoy Frankenstein’s Monster as a Romantic or Pantheist: a gruesome corpse comes back to life and one of the first things it decides to do is some soul-searching, and hypothesise about the meaning of life in the beautiful Swiss countryside. This is complete juxtaposition in comparison to his character as a ruthless, bloodthirsty murdering, vengeful monster! Whilst I understand that juxtaposing character traits can be really effective at times, I just don’t understand how these two particular conflicts can work in a novel and still be considered Gothic.*

*If you have any ideas about this that can enlighten me, please share them below

However, I still admire Shelley for her ideas – ideas which are genuinely creepy and Gothic – and the boldness of her to write such a novel as a woman in the 19th century.

I also enjoyed the storyline as portrayed in Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, the 1994 film adaptation, directed by and starring Kenneth Branagh, as well as Helena Bonham-Carter and Robert De Niro. For me, this film brought to life the gory details of the plot I’d read in a genuinely horrific way, that I then found enjoyable.

All in all, I don’t think I’ll read Frankenstein again, but I’m still glad I read another classic Gothic novel anyway!

I hope you enjoyed this post – please click ‘Like’ or leave a lovely comment.

That’s all for now!

– Judith

2 thoughts on “Monster Book Challenge Day #2: Zombies

  1. Great post! I love this creative challenge week! It’s quite interesting that you didn’t enjoy Frankenstein: I always pegged it as a classic horror, gore and all. If you’re looking for a great zombie series (also technically not zombies, but diseased) – go check out The Enemy series by Charlie Higson. It is for young readers/teen readers but the story line and how the books fit together always interests me!
    I’m excited to see what the next monster in this challenge will be! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

