Image via www.freeimages.com

  • Title: Lucky
  • Published: 2016
  • Author: Rutvi Parikh

Lucky is a children’s fantasy adventure story, in which we meet Brooke, Adam, Rosilia, Heather, and Samuel. All these children are lacking in some way, and so embark on a journey, with the help of some magical creatures, to find what they’re all looking for.

Before I begin sharing my opinions, I’d like to share the fact that Rutvi is an 11-year-old sixth grader, and this is their first ever book. I find this so impressive – when I was 11, I loved drafting stories but due to the lack of technology, publication was never an option at all. So Rutvi, well done for writing your first story at such a young age!

What I liked about Lucky was the switches in narrative, so you could see every character’s thoughts, feelings, and learn more about their backstory. The chapters were quite short, which I think helped to create a “snapshot” of each character, rather than an overly detailed chapters.

Lucky also has a moral message at the end, which I thought was clever, and it reminded me of The Fountain of Fair Fortune story, in The Tales of Beedle the Bard, a “spin-off” fiction from J.K. Rowling after its mention in Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows.

However, I do have some constructive criticism. Some of the narrative switched between tenses accidentally – it can be easy to mix up ‘am’ with ‘was’ and so on, I did this as a child too – which disrupted the flow of the story a little. Also, some of the dialogue was written “LIKE THIS?!???????????”, which I thought was unnecessary.

I’ll also share this tip I picked up from Stephen King’s memoir, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft, you don’t need to use lots of alternative adverbs to describe someone’s speech. He/She said always works the best, and you don’t need to feel guilty about using it often.

As an adult, children’s fantasy stories aren’t really my thing anymore (although obviously making an exception for Harry Potter), but I am convinced that 11-year-old me would have loved Lucky.

It was generally well-written and easy to read, and if you have children that enjoy fantasy and adventure, I strongly encouraged you to show it to them!

Lucky is available to buy as an e-book or paperback from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com.

***

Thank you for reading! This is another bonus ReadandReview post.

I want to reiterate again how impressed I am that an 11-year-old can now release their story on a platform for millions of people to access.  Thanks to Rutvi, who approached me on WordPress and asked me to read their story.

If you enjoyed this review, please give it a ‘like’ or leave a lovely comment down below. Happy reading!

– Judith

4 thoughts on “[BONUS] Read and Review: LUCKY by RUTVI PARIKH #BookReview #Children’sAdventure

Leave a Reply

