Hello!

If you don’t know already, I am an English student. This means I get to read and study some absolutely amazing books. However, it means I also have to read some things I really don’t enjoy. I’ve devised the Read Along With Me Challenge because I’ve seen posts and series on WordPress with a similar idea.

The idea is this: I will read a book and write about each chapter over this week, documenting my experiences, summarising the plot, basically coming to terms with the set text.

If you haven’t already guessed from the title of this post, the text I will be reading and blogging about this week is the epic poem Paradise Lost by John Milton!

I saw this text and immediately found it daunting, so as an introduction to this series, I’ve decided today’s post will be simply me sharing my research on Milton and the context surrounding the poem, to help you (and me) get our heads around it!


Context:

John Milton was an English poet who lived in the 1600s.

At the time, there was a lot of religious conflict, between those who belonged to the Church of England and those who wanted to re-establish Catholicism in England.

Milton took a very public stance on religion, attacking the corruption he saw in the Catholic Church and subsequently calling for the abolition of bishops and priests.

Milton’s view soon became even more radical. He declared all organised forms of Christian church an obstacle to true faith, and followed his own private religion. Milton’s highly individual view of Christianity is part of what makes Paradise Lost so personal and interesting.

Milton believed that the Fall of Adam and Eve was a fortunate event, because it provided the opportunity for humans to redeem themselves by true repentance.

Paradise Lost is Milton’s way of preventing biblical stories for engaging Christian readers and help them to be “better” Christians.


Basic Summary:

Paradise Lost is about how Adam and Eve were created, and how they lost their place in the Garden of Eden. The poem also provides the origin story of Satan, who sought revenge against God and tempted Adam and Eve to their downfall.


Helpful Links:

If you want to do some more research or extra reading, you can use these links here – they thoroughly helped me write this post:


Thanks for reading this post! Tomorrow I’ll be back discussing the first 3 chapters of Paradise Lost, so stick with me, and we can read the text together!

– Judith

2 thoughts on “Read Along With Me Day #1: Paradise Lost

Leave a Reply

