• Title: The Booze Stole My Son (Don’t Let It Steal Yours)
  • Published: 2016
  • Author: Aui V

The Booze Stole My Son is a non-fiction, autobiographical account of a mother’s grief at the loss of her son, JC, who died after a drunk-driving incident.

I found Aui’s story incredibly powerful and you could really feel the emotion in her writing. This was not an easy book to read, which is to be expected, given the topic.

The style of writing switches between extracts from a personal diary, and formally written pieces to inform the reader of Aui’s experiences and religious beliefs, as well as some well-grounded scientific research into alcoholism.

Aui is certainly an accurate narrator; she is a qualified nurse, and has seen the destructive impact of alcoholism on other family members and friends.

Yet because of the switches in narrative styles, the book felt a little unstructured at times. However, this did not detract from the message of this book; I think what is more important is the fact that Aui was able to write The Booze Stole My Son as a coping mechanism, to help her come to terms with such a devastating loss.

She was determined to finish her book and bravely speak of her experiences, to reach out, educate and support other people who may be going through similar circumstances.

Although a relatively short read, The Booze Stole My Son is an inspiring and eye-opening tale, and I certainly learnt a lot reading it.

***

This is another bonus ReadandReview post. Many thanks to Aui for reaching out to me via WordPress, and asking me to read her story.  You can find Aui’s website at writingandalcohol.wordpress.com

The Booze Stole My Son (Don’t Let It Steal Yours) is available to read for free on Wattpad.

If you enjoyed this review, please give it a ‘like’ or leave a lovely comment down below. Alternatively, feel free to share any thoughts and experiences you may have had with similar circumstances.

– Judith

 

9 thoughts on “[BONUS] Read and Review: THE BOOZE STOLE MY SON (DON’T LET IT STEAL YOURS) by AUI V @writingandlife #BookReview #NonFiction

    1. It’s a serious topic, and it was definitely tough to read. I wouldn’t normally pick something like this, as non-fiction isn’t really my thing either, but I felt it was important to read it – especially when I’ve been approached too. After reading it however, I really don’t regret reading it and I’m glad I did. Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. That’s my personal hell. I am a binge drinker and at 40+ I still live with my mom, because she is the only one who can help me break from the binge. The pain that she goes through is untold, but me…. I stil dont get it and I still need occasional intervention.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

