Let’s travel the world, one book at a time.

Basically, I’ve chosen a highly recommended novel, set in one of the countries Phileas Fogg visited, in Jules Verne’s Around The World In Eighty Days, to read and review. You can read more details about this challenge on my Tags & Challenges page.

The first stop on our journey is…. Egypt!

  • Title: Death Comes As The End
  • Author: Agatha Christie
  • Date Published: 1944

Death Comes As The End is a classic murder mystery tale, set in a non-descript period of Ancient Egypt. After suffering the loss of her husband, Renisenb returns home to the sanctuary of her family. However, this once happy family is disrupted by the arrival of her father’s concubine, Nofret, and the tensions increases until suspicious deaths begin to occur.

My Photo [Death Comes As The End]

I really enjoyed this book, and I’m really getting into murder mysteries; I read Christie’s And Then There Were None whilst on holiday, and I’m still working my way through the Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

As I was reading, I was kept very much in suspense and the killer came as a complete shock to me. There were hints at the supernatural, naturally influenced by Ancient Egyptian religious culture, and so for quite a while you simply didn’t know if the murders were committed by a vengeful spirit or a living person.

I really liked the characters of Hori and Renisenb, the wise and moral characters of the story, despite not knowing how to pronounce their names! Speaking of characters however, I found Henet really, really annoying, which I’m sure was what Christie intended.

All the descriptions were fascinating – the names, settings and references to culture really gave me a sense of Egypt, which was what I was hoping for.

All in all, I’m glad I read this book, and I would be interested to read more fiction set in Ancient Egypt.

Have you read any of Agatha Christie’s works, or have your read anything set in Egypt? I value discussions and opinions in the comment section so please leave your thoughts.

My Around The World Challenge will continue at the same time tomorrow, so stay tuned!

– Judith

2 thoughts on “Around The World Challenge Day #1

    1. I think they’re really good; some are definitely better than others and I’m not keen on the journal / letter style of writing sometimes. However, the mysteries are intriguing and I like to try and solve them in advance! xD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

