• Title: Bridget Jones’s Diary
  • Director: Sharon Maguire
  • Released: 2001

With the release of Bridget Jones’s Baby approaching (Friday the 16thof September 2016), I thought I would look back to where it all began.

Bridget Jones’s Diary is a romantic comedy, done in a typically British way, based on Helen Fielding’s book of the same name starring Renée Zellweger, Hugh Grant and Colin Firth. Tired of her seemingly meaningless and cringe-y life, Bridget turns over a new leaf. She begins a diary, documenting her attempts to advance her career, keep up with her friends, and finally find true love.

Normally, I’m not a rom com person because huge sweeping gestures of emotion are just not my style. However, what I like best about Bridget Jones’s Diary is the sheer level of awkward and embarrassing moments that Bridget has over the course of one year.

I thought Renee’s English accent, as an American, was very impressive and was well sustained across the whole film. However, I’ve never seen Renée Zellweger in any other films apart from the Bridget Jones series.

Also, speaking of casting, I just love the fact that Colin Firth is Mark Darcy. If you didn’t know, Fielding’s novel is a loose spoof of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice; Bridget is Elizabeth Bennett, Hugh Grant is Captain Wentworth and Colin Firth is Mr Darcy. A nice in joke, as Firth’s character is appropriately named Mark Darcy, and Firth also famously played Mr Darcy in the hit BBC Austen adaptation.

Yet, despite my knowledge of Pride and Prejudice, and despite knowing that Captain Wentworth is not to be trusted, I couldn’t help liking Hugh Grant’s character, Daniel Cleaver. I thought he was funny and could actually be quite sweet but it’s a shame that, in typical antagonist fashion, he inevitably breaks Bridget’s heart and is ultimately not a suitable match.

*Side Note: I’m gutted that Hugh Grant will not be reprising his role as Daniel Cleaver in Bridget Jones’s Baby, like he did in Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason.

My main criticism of Bridget Jones’s Diary is the off-putting, overuse of cigarettes and alcohol by almost every character in almost every scene. I’m sure this kind of behaviour is incredibly accurate and representative of quite a lot of people, but I still found it distasteful. At one point I was almost certain I would be able to smell the cigarette smoke wafting through my screen!

Nonetheless, I’ve watched this film (and its sequel) quite a few times, and I still find it enjoyable. It’s a sweet, funny little romance that could accurately represent many socially awkward British women. I look forward to seeing what I think about the third instalment! You can watch the trailer for Bridget Jones’ Baby here:

Do you enjoy rom com films? Which is your favourite? Leave a comment to let me know!

– Judith

18 thoughts on “Film Review: Bridget Jones’s Diary

  1. This is typically the kind of film I find myself viewing on an airplane (and compared to typical airplane viewing, no complaints.) First two were enjoyable enough, but check out Zellweger in Cold Mountain, Chicago (which is incredibly great) and Empire Records if you’re feeling brave. Empire Records is not a good film, but she steals the movie, and there is some nostalgia value.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the recommendations! I’ve actually never been on an airplane, but I know what you mean 😂 I wouldn’t class it as a favourite movie or anything, but I watch it every now and again to relive the cringe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

