I saw this over on Paper Fury’s website (you can find it at paperfury.com) and I am really excited to give it a go.

As forewarning, I’m writing this post in advance, so this particular shelf (and my subsequent answers) may have altered a little by the time you are actually reading this post. But not to worry!

1. Describe your bookshelf. Where did you get it from? 

My bookshelf is  a tall, grey, wooden shelving unit with adjustable shelves from IKEA. I bought it secondhand from a friend of a friend, and I have no idea if this particular model is still produced and sold. My favourite thing about it is the adjustable shelves, to allow for different sized books. It’s super tall and it’s impossible to get a photo of the entire thing, so I’ve compiled a collage of each shelf, using some pretty Instagram filters!

My Photo [Bookshelf Tag].JPG

2. How do you organise your books?

I organise my books based on their genre or their publisher, if I’ve got quite a few from a particular “set”. If I’ve got a couple from the same publishing company, then I  alphabetise in order of the author’s surname. 

3. What’s the biggest book on your bookshelf?

I’m not concerned enough to individually measure each book to see which is precisely the biggest, but I would say my Hetty Feather series by Jacqueline Wilson are pretty big books. They include: Hetty Feather, Emerald Star, Sapphire Battersea and the “spin-off” book, Diamond.

4. What’s the smallest book on your bookshelf?

Oroonoko by Aphra Behn or Utopia by Thomas More – they’re slim reads, but not necessarily quick reads, given the complexity of the language used!

5. Is there a book you received as birthday gift?

Both my Anne of Green Gables series and my Hetty Feather series were collected over a number of childhood birthdays.

6. Is there a book you received from a friend?

No – I’m not really a book swapper and my friends don’t really do presents.

7. What’s the most expensive book on your bookshelf?

I really dislike spending vast amounts of money on anything – charity shops and secondh-hand sites are havens for me! The most expensive book was The Monk by Matthew Lewis (pst – I posted a review of it, read it here!) which I bought from Waterstones for £8.99. However, I had a £10 Love2Shop Voucher and so it didn’t cost me a penny!

8. What’s the last book you read on your bookshelf?

At the minute, the most recent reads on this bookshelf are Oroonoko by Aphra Behn, and before that, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. 

9. Do you have more than one copy of a book?

No – I never buy a book if someone I know already has a copy I can borrow or I can easily grab one at a library. What’s the point in duplicates?

10. Do you have any complete series’ of books?

Yes, the Anne of Green Gables series, the Hetty Feather series, the Harry Potter series, the Famous Five series, the Chronicles of Narnia series and A Series of Unfortunate Events (but these last 4 do not live on this particular shelf).

11. What’s the newest addition to your bookshelf?

I’m constantly moving books around but currently, it is Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter. I’m intrigued to read the novel after watching Easy A numerous times on TV.

12. What’s the most recently published book on your bookshelf?

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion, which was published in 2013. I quite liked the concept of the book – although I’m yet to see the film!

13. What’s the oldest book on your bookshelf?

Any of the Penguin Popular Classics – they are a few decades old – but nothing older, crumblier or aged than that I’m afraid!

14. Do you have a book you won?

I am yet to win a book 😦

15. Is there a book you’d hate to let out of your sight?

I wouldn’t say I’m sentimentally attached to any of my books to a huge extent, but one of my favourite stories is Forrest Gump – another birthday gift coincidentally! I read it in 1 day and absolutely LOVE it (the film as well!). So if I had to pick, I’d probably say I would hate to let Forrest Gump out of my sight. (I forgot to include Forrest Gump in the photo as I am re-reading it… woops!)

16. What’s the most beaten up book on your bookshelf?

I’m not a book snob , but I don’t like really majorly beaten, weathered books because I’m scared of them falling apart. My copy of To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee is pretty worn however, because I studied at high school and so it got bashed about a from a life in my school bag! 

17. What’s the most pristine book on your bookshelf?

I’d either say Forrest Gump because its white cover is still so glossy or any of my black Penguin Classics, which are all printed with a glossy black finish and so still look quite pristine even after a good read! 

18. Is there a book from your childhood?

I feel like I’m repeating myself! Hetty Feather and Anne of Green Gables! For the last time! Argh! I also have a bunch of children’s classics and inspiring stories of Christian missionaries I collected as a child.

19. Is there a book that doesn’t belong to you?

I have so many books on my shelf I’ve “borrowed” from my parents – I’ve swiped them with the good intention of reading them, but haven’t got round to it yet!

20. Is there a book with a particularly special cover?

I really like the sparkly Hetty Feather covers – it was what attracted me to the first book all those years ago in WHSmiths…

21. Is there a book with a cover in your favourite colour?

I don’t really think I have a specific favourite colour, but I quite like black on a book cover, which, as you can see, applies to quite a lot of books on this shelf!

22. Is there a book which has been on your bookshelf the longest and you STILL haven’t read it?

No – I’ve read all the books that have been sitting there a while. The newest additions still remain unread though.

23. Do you have any signed books?

I only have one signed book (to my recollection) and it is not housed on this shelf. I have a signed copy of Mokee Joe by Peter J. Murray, although I’m still to obtain and read the final book of the trilogy!

24. Finally, who do you TAG to take part?

 Anyone who wishes to take part! However, I encourage:

  1. Sasha @ downthereadingholeblog.wordpress.com
  2. QuirkyVictorian @ overanalysingliterature.wordpress.com
  3. Rachel @ rachelpoli.com

That’s all for now – happy reading!

– Judith

17 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Tag

  1. Winning books is soooo difficult! As soon as I do, I’m letting the whole world know. Actually the moment I win any sort of drawing, the whole world will know! My luck is just terrible. Your bookshelf looks amazing, and I’m impressed that you’ve organized it. I sort of just randomly stick as many books on one shelf and move on to the next. Some day, I’ll find time to make it look aesthetic.
    Fun tag, you did a great job with it as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I bought my first place, I bought shelves from Ikea as well. Love them. Adjustable shelf height, and attractive. Easy to take apart when moving. The house we bought several years ago has two large built in bookshelves that reach almost to the ceiling – and we have high ceilings. Of course, the previous owner had them filled with sports memorabilia…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

