Book Review: Fire Blessed by Crystin Goodwin

Fire Blessed is the sequel to UnBlessed, a fantasy series set in Myrillia, where there is an ongoing rivalry between two different races of magical beings, the Meliors and the Transeaturs. I suggest you read my review of UnBlessed before reading this post, to avoid any confusion!

My Photo [Fire Blessed]

While UnBlessed was told mainly from the perspective of Kisara, who remained UnBlessed at each ceremony, Fire Blessed continues the narrative through the eyes of Marius, a powerful Melior who has a Fire Blessing, who is friends with both Lucien and Kisara. Using my powers of deduction, I imagine that the third instalment in this series, Ice Blessed, will be told from the perspective of Lucien, another powerful Melior who has the Ice Blessing.

I liked the switch in narration between the two books, and it was interesting to re-read some of the scenes from UnBlessed from another character’s perspective. The ancestries of the Melior and Transeatur races was significantly developed in Fire Blessed, which I think is important in fantasy novels, because a lot of the ideas are new and need explaining to the audience.

I’m also really glad Sebastian and Kisara are still becoming more of a “thing”, although Lucien is as bratty and controlling as ever!

I thought the Elder Priest was significantly creepy and domineering, which was good because it clearly mapped out who the “goodies” were and who there “baddies” were, paving the way for a climactic final battle between these two forces, in Ice Blessed, perhaps.

However, it took a while before I understood why Renelle was needed in the storyline and I think her transition from minor character to major character could have been done quicker. I’m also not a fan of her name because it reminds of Renesmee from Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series, which I didn’t like. I also thought phrases like ‘Sweet Unda’ or ‘Blessed Elements’, as alternatives to the cry of “OMG” by mere mortals, were used too excessively and it didn’t contribute to the dialogue.

I also though the climax at the end of the book could have been drawn out more – it seemed to start and finish very suddenly, and I wasn’t ready for the excitement to end!

All in all, I very much enjoyed reading Fire Blessed and I can’t wait to start reading Ice Blessed!

Star Rating: 4/5 Stars

Ice Blessed is available to buy as an e-book or paperback from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com.

– Judith

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Fire Blessed by Crystin Goodwin

Leave a Reply

