• Title: Fire Blessed
  • Published: 2015
  • Author: Crystin Goodwin
  • Started: Wednesday 29th June 2016
  • Finished: Monday 11th July 2016

My Photo [Fire Blessed]

Fire Blessed is the sequel to UnBlessed, a fantasy series set in Myrillia, where there is an ongoing rivalry between two different races of magical beings, the Meliors and the Transeaturs. I suggest you read my review of UnBlessed before reading this post, to avoid any confusion!

While UnBlessed was told mainly from the perspective of Kisara, who remained UnBlessed at each ceremony, Fire Blessed continues the narrative through the eyes of Marius, a powerful Melior who has a Fire Blessing, who is friends with both Lucien and Kisara. Using my powers of deduction, I imagine that the third instalment in this series, Ice Blessed, will be told from the perspective of Lucien, another powerful Melior who has the Ice Blessing.

I liked the switch in narration between the two books, and it was interesting to re-read some of the scenes from UnBlessed from another character’s perspective. The ancestries of the Melior and Transeatur races was significantly developed in Fire Blessed, which I think is important in fantasy novels, because a lot of the ideas are new and need explaining to the audience.

I’m also really glad Sebastian and Kisara are still becoming more of a “thing”, although Lucien is as bratty and controlling as ever!

I thought the Elder Priest was significantly creepy and domineering, which was good because it clearly mapped out who the “goodies” were and who there “baddies” were, paving the way for a climactic final battle between these two forces, in Ice Blessed, perhaps.

However, it took a while before I understood why Renelle was needed in the storyline and I think her transition from minor character to major character could have been done quicker. I’m also not a fan of her name because it reminds of Renesmee from Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series, which I didn’t like. I also thought phrases like ‘Sweet Unda’ or ‘Blessed Elements’, as alternatives to the cry of “OMG” by mere mortals, were used too excessively and it didn’t contribute to the dialogue.

I also though the climax at the end of the book could have been drawn out more – it seemed to start and finish very suddenly, and I wasn’t ready for the excitement to end!

All in all, I very much enjoyed reading Fire Blessed and I can’t wait to start reading Ice Blessed!

Star Rating: 4/5 Stars

Ice Blessed is available to buy as an e-book or paperback from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com.

***

Thank you for reading!

Crystin kindly sent me UnBlessed, Fire Blessed, and recently Ice Blessed too (I’m very excited about this!), to read for free on my Amazon Kindle App. You can find Crystin’s website here:  crystinlgoodwin.wordpress.com

If you enjoyed this review, please give it a ‘like’ or leave a lovely comment down below. Happy reading!

– Judith

5 thoughts on “Read and Review: FIRE BLESSED by CRYSTIN GOODWIN @CrystinLGoodwin #BookReview #Fantasy

Leave a Reply

