Welcome to the final day of my Learn To Love Challenge! Today I have chosen to Learn to Love … audio books!


Part 1:

1. Have you ever read (/listened to) texts from this form before?

No, although I’ve heard of them and have toyed with the idea of using them before.

2. Why have you stayed away from this form?

I didn’t really know where to get them from, how expensive they would be, and whether I’d actually like them or not to make them a worthwhile purchase.

3. Why have you chosen these particular texts?

As you may know, I’ve begun re-reading and re-watching the Harry Potter series, so I have chosen to listen to Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling and narrated by Stephen Fry, as well as A Game Of Thrones, the first in the Game Of Thrones series by George R. R. Martin, which is narrated by Roy Dotrice. I was able to obtain both of these audio books for free by using a free trial with Audible, which I unsubscribed to once I’d got my free books because like I said earlier, audio books are expensive. #notspon


Part 2:

1. What did you like?

When listening to Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets, it was so funny and I felt like the “magic” of the books had been reawakened. Stephen Fry has clear diction and he “did” the voices of each character, which I thought was really funny and brought the story to life. Because I wasn’t reading, I really noticed the descriptions and could imagine the scenes in a way I’ve never been able to before.

I liked to listen to the audio books when I am doing other things, such as adult colouring, travelling on a long car journey, or simply listening for an hour or so before going to bed.

2. What did you dislike?

When listening to A Game Of Thrones, I felt like it was trickier to concentrate and follow because there are lots of unusual names, and I felt that the narrator spoke too slowly for me. I corrected this by adjusting the speed, but it still didn’t feel right.

Also, with both books, I noticed that it takes a lot longer to listen to than it does to read the book, and subsequently I am still listening to A Game Of Thrones, as this post goes up! This is somewhat annoying because my usual pace of reading is quite fast.


Part 3:

1. After reading (/listening to) the text, would you say that you enjoy this form?

Yes; I did enjoy listening to audio books as it was a completely new experience for me and I liked being able to do other things whilst still absorbing the story.

2. Have any of your preconceptions changed?

Well, I know I can download audio books with a subscription to Audible, but they are still expensive and I wouldn’t be in a hurry to buy any soon.

3. Would you read more texts in this form?

See Question 2! I’d love to, but perhaps in a more cost-effective way, such as a second-hand CD or something (I’m somewhat of a thrifter).


And there we have it! The end of my Learn To Love Challenge. Which post was your favourite? Do you like audio books too?

Let me know your thoughts!

– Judith

4 thoughts on “Learn To Love Challenge Day #5

Leave a Reply

