I really enjoyed doing my first Book Haul, back in May, so I thought I’d do another one! Last time, I listed 3 books – this time I have upped the ante and I am listing 4. The thing that amazed me about these books was that they were so cheap (and I love a good bargain)!

Number 1 on my list is Carrie by Stephen King, the first King novel I’ve ever read. I really enjoyed the paranormal horror story and I liked the fact it was written from various perspectives, so you can see the build-up and the climax from different angles. I bought it for 10p from a local library; they were selling a variety of second-hand books, for a donation towards the National Literacy Trust.

My Photo [Book Haul 1B]

Number 2 on my list is War Horse by Michael Morpurgo. The edition I bought was published in 2011, and a film adaptation was released fairly recently, and I believe it was successful. I haven’t read any Morpurgo since I was a child (the last book of his I read was Kenzuke’s Kingdom) and I’m looking forward to getting stuck in with it!  I bought War Horse for 50p from the charity shop Scope.

My Photo [Book Haul 2B]

Number 3 on my list is Sherlock Holmes: The Ultimate Collection by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This book does what it says on the tin: it is the complete collection of all Sherlock Holmes’ stories, which I was so relieved to find after spending ages trying to find library books which had the stories I wanted to read in the right order. It is a downloadable book from iBooks and only cost 49p – which is insane for the amount of content you get!

My Photo [Book Haul 3B]

Finally, Number 4 on my list The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I’m still reading this book at the moment, but I’m really interested in it as it’s a mix of science-fiction and romance, and I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. For any major sci-fi geeks, its mashed-up timeline of events really reminds me of the Doctor / River Song storyline in the BBC science-fiction show, Doctor Who. I bought it from Kirkwood Hospice for 75p.

My Photo [Book Haul 4B]

That’s the end of my second book haul! Like the title says, I only spent £1.84 and yet obtained 4 amazing books!

Have you read the books on my list? What did you think of them?

Until next time!

– Judith

13 thoughts on “Book Haul #2 (4 Books For Under £2)

Leave a Reply

