Book Review: UnBlessed by Crystin Goodwin

UnBlessed is a fantasy story set in the magical land of Myrillia. There is an ongoing rivalry between the Meliors, those who believe in Elements and can use special gifts once they are Blessed, and the Transeaturs, an allegedly savage race of mystical shape-shifters. The three main characters are Lucien (a Blessed Melior) Sebastian (a Transeatur) and Kisara, who unfortunately remains UnBlessed year after year, until she makes a shocking revelation.

My Photo [UnBlessed]

Almost immediately, I noticed that UnBlessed had a remarkably similar format to the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. A young and attractive female protagonist realises she doesn’t quite fit the mould of the society in which she lives. She then finds herself torn between her feelings for two men from very different backgrounds, creating a love triangle. However, whilst this structure may not appeal to everyone, it’s clearly a format that is successful within YA fiction. I thought it worked, and so I did not have a problem with Goodwin’s chosen format.

I really liked the description of Kisara; her eyes seem enchanted, and purples and blacks are my favourite colours. I could see her vividly in my mind, to the extent where I wished I was talented enough to draw what I can see, as a permanent reminder!

I also enjoyed the frequent use of magic and the power of the elements, which are classic motifs in many fantasy novels. The climax, and its action sequences, were particularly absorbing parts of the book so I was always desperate to find out what happened!

However, I really disliked the characters of Lucien and Dami. Lucien acted like a complete jerk for the majority of the book because he very controlling (and borderline abusive) towards Kisara. Dami was very energetic, but I just couldn’t keep up with her enthusiasm and I’m not sure what she added to the plot.

In addition, I think the plot twist at the end needed more build-up than Goodwin gave it. Although it made me want to start reading the sequel, Fire Blessed, as soon as possible, it felt somewhat rushed and left too many open ends at the same time.

If you’re a fan of YA fiction and fantasy, then I strongly recommend you read this book.

Star Rating: 4/5 Stars

UnBlessed is available to buy as an e-book or paperback from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com.

– Judith

6 thoughts on “Book Review: UnBlessed by Crystin Goodwin

Leave a Reply

