• Title: Gone Girl
  • Director: David Fincher
  • Released: 2014

Last month, I talked a little about Gone Girl in my Book Haul and said I would post a ReadandReview post about it soon. Today is that day! Sort of. As you can see, I’ve tweaked that idea slightly so I can talk about both the book and the film in this month’s What I Watched Wednesday.

Gone Girl stars Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike, and tells the story of Nick and Amy, a loved-up married couple. Amy vanishes on the night of their 5 year anniversary and all suspicion falls upon Nick due to odd behaviourisms and creepy “clues”.

I think this film was a really faithful adaptation of Gillian Flynn’s novel, which could have been quite tough to pull off as a lot of the narrative in the book was conveyed through flashbacks and diary entries of both Nick and Amy.

The choice of settings, music and the colour palette of the film really helped add to the atmosphere, and both Affleck and Pike’s acting skills brought Nick and Amy to life. I was captivated for the entire film, although there were some shocking scenes towards the end that made me feel as if I should be peeping through my fingers!

As much as I enjoyed reading the book and watching the film however, I do have some criticisms. I wasn’t wholly convinced by Pike’s American accent in places – she’s a native Brit like me – and I understand it was necessary in order to play an American character, but part of me would have preferred hearing her lovely English accent!

Also, the ending of the film (and the book) both infuriates me and satisfies me! It’s a complete paradox! Without giving away any spoilers, I’ll try and explain what I mean. I like the idea of Nick and Amy as a fully functioning “marriage unit”, where each tests, challenges, and balances the other out. Having said that, their attitudes towards each other seem so destructive that they appear to be trapped in the world’s most dysfunctional marriage. Thus, the ending can be interpreted as justifiable and satisfying, or infuriatingly annoying – a paradox!

Overall though, both the book and the film kept me enthralled. I would definitely watch Gone Girl again, and I would love to read the book again too.

Let me know what you thought of Gone Girl – either the book or the film – in the comments. Don’t forget to “Like” this post or press “Follow”!

That’s all for now!

– Judith

10 thoughts on “Film Review: Gone Girl

    1. You really should! You really get inside Amy’s head more, more than you do in the film. The ending is really controversial though because nobody expects them to stay together, and can’t wrap their heads around it.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Love the What I Watched Wednesday posts! My husband avoids watching film adaptations with me because I can’t help but fill in all the blanks that I feel get lost in the edit down to film length. As you said in the comment above, you get so much more of the nuance when you have a more complete view of the character. I almost never like the film as much as the book, that’s the case here too. Well it still held my attention I had to watch a few scenes with one eye closed…sorry NPH!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great review, really nice to see a review not from primarily a cinematic focus. I personally love this film, and rank it among my favourite dilms. I love Fincher’s work, and think he is at the height of his powers. I love the book too and Gillian Flynn is the only person who could adapt her novel. I like the ending, I think its twisted and controversial enough that the film will live on, in acclaim and infamy, which is what Fincher wants I’m sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

