Welcome to another Tag Tuesday! This is pretty much another Q&A style post.

This time, fellow blogger Hannah @ thebookllama.wordpress.com recommended I do this tag. I also read another This or That Tag post @ bookworm8921.blogspot.co.uk, and found that both posts had used a bunch of different questions! I’ve picked my favourite 25 from the two posts.

Let’s get started!

1. Audio book or physical book?
Physical book! I just love the feel of holding books. I might be a bit biased though, as I’ve never tried out an audio book. I just don’t think I’d have the concentration to continually listen to one.

2. Paperback or hardback?
Paperback! Hardback books are nice, but they’re very expensive just for a tougher cover. I find paperback books “comfier” to sit and read with – hardbacks are very rigid, especially if they’re a big book. If I order a book though, and it just so happens to arrive as a hardback, I won’t complain.

3. Fiction or non-fiction?
Fiction! Stories are so much more interesting and exciting. I’ve tried reading non-fiction books as part of my studies and it takes me so long to get through them. If any of you are avid non-fiction readers, please tell me how to “get into” them!

4. Fantasy or real life?
It depends. If I say I like the fantasy genre, I don’t want to be visualised as a fairy-loving, magical queen of darkness / hobbit wannabe! I have enjoyed some real life fiction, and I have enjoyed some fantasy fiction too. It very much depends on the subject and author.

5. Harry Potter or Twilight?
I’ve read both series, and definitely preferred the Harry Potter books! I’ve never reread the Twilight series, and I honestly can’t remember reading anything spectacular in Bella’s first-person narrative. If I wanted to relive the plot, I’d just watch the Twilight films instead.

6. Kindle, iPad, or other?

I don’t have a Kindle or an iPad, but I quite like the iBooks app available on the iPhone (and probably the iPad as well). I’m not a massive fan of E-readers, but it certainly helps me read giant novels (for free!) when I’m travelling around. My latest accomplishment was reading War and Peace every day on the train, which certainly wouldn’t be ideal if I had the physical book with me!

7. Borrow or buy?
I think I borrow more books than I buy. I’m not prepared to invest a lot of money in books which I have no idea if I will like or not, so I prefer to use libraries/friends/family to find some great reads! As I’m not really a “re-reader”, this works just fine for me. However, I do like to scout charity shops (I find Oxfam Books and Cancer Research UK always have a good selection) for any cheap novels I’m looking to read.

8. Bookstore or online?
I really love the atmosphere of bookshops, but there aren’t a great deal near to me without me having to pay for a lot of travel, and so I rarely make trips to bookstores. Because of this, I do find it a lot more exciting when I do get the chance to go! On the whole, I’m more likely to buy books from Amazon, as they have quite reasonable prices for second-hand books.

9. Trilogy or stand-alone series?
I like the idea of a trilogy, with a continuation of the story. However, few older novels adopt this because of how they were originally written (e.g. a chapter published a week in a newspaper). I have read Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring, but haven’t got round to the rest of them yet (I’m not much of a “hobbit wannabe” after all then)! Modern novels really seem to “milk” the trilogy idea – especially Young Adult fiction – and it seems more like a money-making exercise than fulfilling a genuine need for 3 novels.

10. Monster read or short and sweet?
I like giant novels because I can work on them over time and it feels like an amazing challenge to complete when you finish reading it. Shorter books are okay, but I wouldn’t say they’re my favourite.

11. Romance or Action?
Neither! I prefer spooky/creepy/Gothic stuff, which can involve some action, but that’s not the primary focus.

12. Curl up nice and warm or sunbathing?
Curling up is the best! I love to read surrounded by blankets and be warm and cosy and relaxed, ready to read (unless I’m on the train of course, that would be odd!).

13. Hot chocolate or latte?
Neither! I’m a lover of tea (in the large quantities) and have a giant Sports Direct mug perfectly suited for that purpose

14. Read the review or decide your yourself?
I like to get a wide range of opinions of a book before reading. However, once I’ve finished the book I do like to think back to the reviews and opinions I’ve read/listened to and compare my own views with theirs.

15. Bookmarks or dog-ears?
Bookmarks! I have a little range of freebie bookmarks or home-made ones. I don’t like folding pages over it looks so scruffy and is a permanent fold in the book too.

16. Alphabetise by author, title or other?
I alphabetise my books by the last name of the author, because it makes the most sense to me, and it’s the practice that libraries adopt too.

17. Keep the dust jacket or toss the dust jacket?
I read the hardback version of Jane Eyre, which has a dust jacket, and I couldn’t stand the dust jacket! I always remove the dust jackets when reading because it’s just a fiddly piece of paper, although I put it back on once I’ve finished reading the book. I would never throw them away.

18. Read with the dust jacket, or remove it?
See above!

19. Short story or novel?
Novel! They take longer to work through, and I’m rather fussy when it comes to short stories. I don’t think I’m too bad at writing them however – check out my short story White Winter Mist here:

20. Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?
That’s a tough one! I like both series of books, and both have different writing styles and genres.

21. Stop reading when you’re tired or stop reading at chapter breaks?
Chapter breaks! It’s easiest for remembering exactly where you got to. If I’m nowhere near the end of a chapter (some books I’ve read have individual of chapters 100+ pages) I’ll stop at a page or paragraph break.

22. “It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?
“It was a dark and stormy night”! I love connotations of spooky fiction and the Gothic genre.

23. Tidy ending or cliffhanger?
It depends. Cliffhangers only work if they’re well done. Sometimes I think a cliffhanger can be quite a lazy way to end the book – to create supposed “suspense” just because the writer couldn’t think of a decent and satisfying ending. On the whole, I’d say I prefer tidy endings.

24. Morning, afternoon, or evening reading?
I usually read in the morning (when commuting) and in the evening – both  when commuting and sat relaxing home.

And finally, (this isn’t a This or That question but it made me laugh when I saw it on Hannah’s blog):

25. Do you ever smell books?
I agree with Hannah – it isn’t weird!

Thank you for reading – if you have different interesting answers to these questions let me know in the comments. I tag:

  1. Drew @ thetattooedbookgeek.wordpress.com
  2. Orangutan Librarian @ theorangutanlibrarian.wordpress.com
  3. Shannon / Captivated By Fantasy @ shannonpaigewaters.com

If you want to do the This or That Tag yourself and I haven’t tagged you, feel free! Click ‘Like’ or ‘Follow’ if you haven’t already to show lovely lovely support.

Until next time!

– Judith

5 thoughts on “This or That Tag

  1. Love this Q&A! You could tag some of the people in Rosie’s review team too, I’m sure they’d love to join in!

    Re the trilogy thing, it began with Kindle books, around 8 years ago. Writers and publishers realised it was a money-maker, because people could download the next at 10 o’clock on a Sunday night and start reading straight away. Addictive – I’ve done it myself (I love zombie apocalypse novels!). Problem is that it led to a low standard in some cases, with writers ‘padding’ books to turn them into a series of 4, rather than 1 or 2 books. The ‘published by chapter in newspapers’ hasn’t happened since about 100 years ago, I don’t think!

    You ought to give e-readers a go – I didn’t like them at first either, until I went on a reading binge one month, and discovered how great they are! Also, so many books these days (particularly of the type you like) are Kindle only, and you can often get beginnings of series free. Loads are 99p. Re the audio books, I know what you mean!! I only listen to them if I’m doing something (like ironing), or I fall asleep 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to be SO against hardbacks bc like you, I find the dust jackets annoying & once they’re ruined…</3 But now I just love them so much although I do still ditch the jackets when I'm reading. I totally agree with you about YA authors milking a series – that's why I prefer a well written standalone, even if it means less time with the characters I love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

