Welcome to Day #4 of my Book Cover Lover Challenge – the penultimate day! If you’ve only just stumbled across this mini-series of mine, you can find out what it’s all by about by clicking my Challenges page, and catch up on Day #1, Day #2 and Day #3.

Similarly to Day #1 of the challenge, today’s cover is from a book which I haven’t read yet. Here it is – The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux, although I have seen the famous Andrew Lloyd Webber musical!

image

This is another paperback book with a matte cover. It was published by Collins Classics in 2011. The reason why I think this cover is so beautiful is the simplicity of the design. The clean lines between the black and white background are really well finished, and the title font used is simple, but elegant.

As a lover of the Gothic genre, I also really appreciate the use of the 3 Gothic colours: red, black, and white.

There are 2 other stylistic designs on this cover which I think are important. Firstly, the single red rose, which has a faint reflection (difficult to spot in most lighting!), is a motif used throughout the story and symbolises an eternal love. Secondly, the use of white text over the black background instantly has connotations of ghosts and phantoms.

If I remember rightly, I think I was given this book as a birthday gift, but I’ve located it on Amazon if any of you are interested in purchasing a copy for yourself: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Phantom-Opera-Collins-Classics/dp/0007420277?ie=UTF8&*Version*=1&*entries*=0

Have you read Phantom of the Opera? What did you think? Do you like this cover as much as I do? Let me know in the comments!

Thank you for reading my latest post – as always, click ‘Follow’ to be updated whenever I post something new, and stay tuned for the final day of my Book Cover Lover Challenge!

– Judith

Leave a Reply

