Hello and welcome to Day #3 of my Book Cover Lover Challenge!

As it’s Day #3, I thought I would post 3 book covers (does that count as cheating somehow?) I wanted to post all 3 covers, because they’re all linked by the same motif – eyes. I’ll pop the picture just here, and you’ll see what I mean:

image

If you haven’t recognised these books already, they are the Forbidden Game Trilogy by L.J. Smith – who also wrote the Vampire Diaries series. First of all, I really loved these books – they’re one of the few series I have actually read multiple times. They were published by Scholastic in 1994, and if I had to assign them a genre, I would describe them as Young Adult/Horror. Although the target audience and characters are teenagers, the stuff that happens in these books is so creepy and scary. Pardon the cliché, but they literally kept me on the edge of my seat!

Anyway, this a Book Cover Lover Post, not a Read and Review post, so I’ll jump straight into why I love these covers!

They are all paperback books, with glossy covers and Spot UV on the Forbidden Game title – both on the cover and the spine. This makes them really shiny and accentuates Julian’s (the antagonist) icy blue eyes. In fact, the blue colour scheme is carried across all 3 books, giving them clear continuity. However, it’s a shame that #2 in the series (The Chase) has a bright orange cover. It’s foreshadows events in the plot (hint hint, fire!) but it does look somewhat of an oddball compared with #1 (The Hunter) and #3 (The Kill).

I picked up The Hunter in a charity shop somewhere and gradually collected the rest – probably via Amazon. I can honestly say, if it wasn’t for the bright colours and Spot UV technique, these books may not have caught my eye!

Have you read the Forbidden Game Trilogy? What did you think? Do you like the covers as much as I do? Let me know below!

Stay tuned for Day #4 of my Book Cover Lover Challenge!

– Judith

2 thoughts on “Book Cover Challenge Day #3

Leave a Reply

