Today’s book is The Hostile Hospital, the 8th book in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events.

image

It’s a hardback book, printed by Egmont Book in 2003. I would describe the cover as matte, but it’s also really smooth and a little “rubbery” – it may even be super matte. I like the feel of the cover and spine.

I’ve read the series a couple of times, and this is my favourite cover because I absolutely love the bright shade of blue used! Each book in the series has a different colour spine as well as a different central illustration.

I also really like the choice of fonts for the titles, as the spiralled handwriting looks creepy. Even as I’m writing this, I’ve noticed some stereotypical “horror film trees” lurking the black background to add to the creepy theme! The red heart balloon contrasts with the bright blue, and Brett Helquist has etched pure terror onto Klaus and Sunny’s faces, while Violet remains “faceless” – another creepy feature of the cover.

– Judith

8 thoughts on “Book Cover Challenge Day #2

Leave a Reply

