Okay, I’m not sure if this is a “tag” per se, but I thought I’d give it a go. I’ve seen these “book hauls” floating around on WordPress for quite a while, and I wanted to give on a try.

Over the last few days, I have picked up 3 books (all for free) which I thought I’d share with you, so it’s only a mini book haul, but let’s get into it!

Number 1 on my list is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. It was published in 2012 and was recently made into a film. I picked it up from my local library and read it just under a week – it was so engrossing! I will probably upload a ReadandReview Post of this book at some point, but for now, let me just say this: Gone Girl is CREEPY.

image1

Number 2 in my book haul is When We Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro, which was published in 2000. I saved it from my mother’s “get rid” pile of books but I haven’t really read much of it yet, and so can’t offer much more of an opinion on it than that.

image2

Number 3, and the final listing in my book haul is Reasons to Say Alive by Matt Haig. It was published in 2015 and is a harrowing first-person perspective of issues surrounding and including depression. This book was gifted to me following my participation in the Six Book Challenge, but I haven’t yet read it. As next week is Mental Health Awareness Week, I thought it was only apt to mention this book. To read more blog posts about mental health issues, I would recommend you read Rosie’s blog over @ rosiewritesaboutlife.blogspot.co.uk

image3

And that rounds up my first ever book haul! Let me know what you think of my choices – have you read them? Did you like them?

That’s all for now!

– Judith

3 thoughts on “Book Haul #1 (The One Where All The Books Were Free)

Leave a Reply

