I was nominated by Vicki, who has her own blog called The Page Turner.

I am a huge fan of Gothic literature – I reviewed The Monk by Matthew Lewis, not too long ago and released my own Gothic short story, White Winter Mist, so I think it’s only fitting that Day #1 of the Day Quote Challenge is a Gothic one:

‘I wish I could hold you,’ she continued, bitterly, ’till we were both dead!

Spoken by Cathy, Wuthering Heights, Volume 1 Chapter 15

I’ve read Bronte’s Wuthering Heights a good few times and I find this quote particularly poignant.

Not only does it symbolise the juxtaposition between the loving and destructive nature of Cathy and Heathcliff’s relationship, but it has echoes of something equally melancholic and beautiful – making it a very memorable quote for me.

The 3 blogs I nominate are:

  1. Rachel @ rachelnhawkins.wordpress.com
  2. Carla @ wordsmalarkey.wordpress.com
  3. Lucy & Sarah @ hardbookhabit.com

– Judith

5 thoughts on “3 Day Quote Challenge Day #1

Leave a Reply

