Hello!

I was encouraged to do this tag by Austin @ bitterbibliophile – so check out her blog if you want!

The Secret Life of a Blogger Tag is basically a Question & Answer post, so let’s get down to writing some A’s for these Q’s!

1. How long have you been a blogger?
That’s an interesting question, as I started ReadandReview in February 2016 but I’d previously tried to start blogs because I’d been “told to” – if you say you enjoy writing, teachers tend to point towards starting your own blog, but I never had anything to write about. However, this year, I found my topic. I’d always been a bit of a bookworm and a great appreciator of films, so I got back into reading and “analysing” films. Also, as I’ve said on my About page, the Six Book Challenge I took part in also stirred an enjoyment for writing reviews.

2. At what point do you think it will stop?
Hopefully never! I have lots of plans in the pipeline and I constantly write mini posts or ideas on my phone whenever they come to me. As long as I keep reading, I think this blog will be around quite a while.

3. What is the best thing about being a blogger?
To be honest, it’s still odd referring to myself as a “blogger”, but if I had to pick the best thing about blogging I would say the community, and being able to reach people across the other side of the world with the same passions and interests as you. I think that’s really important.

4. What is the worst thing about being a blogger? How do you overcome this?
For me, it’s a self-confidence issue. With any post I publish, there’s always thoughts in the back of my mind wondering if it was good enough, how many people will see it, why did this post get more likes and comments than that post and so on. I think doubting the quality of your own work can be a big fear amongst many bloggers.

5. How long does it take to find or create pictures to use?
Not long at all! I usually spend a few minutes searching Google and what I want comes up. I use pictures from sites such as Wikipedia or Public Domain Pictures, or Pixabay – because they are free to use! Sometimes a little time is needed cropping the image so it “sits” how I want it to. With pictures I embed in my posts – such as book covers – I just take those myself and create a little collage.

6. Who is your book crush?
My first response is: What is a book crush?! After a quick Google, I’ve learn that a book crush is a character you, well, have a crush on/love/admire. To be honest, I don’t really think I have one. I’ve never been one to “crush on” people. On a slightly different level, I love and admire strong father figures, because it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy that they’re “going the extra mile” for their children. If I had to give some examples I would say Hans Hubermann from The Book Thief, Sirius Black from the Harry Potter series, and Matthew Cuthbert from the Anne of Green Gables series.

7. What author would you like to feature on your blog?
Well, I’ve had some work experience in local newspapers and a local radio station, so I know how interviews work, and I’d love to interview an author I admire on my blog. However, a lot of the writers I love are sadly dead – that’s the downside to being a fan of Victorian literature! It would be really great to interview J.K. Rowling, if I could control myself from just gushing about Harry Potter! I’d also really love to meet Jacqueline Wilson, who was one of my favourite authors as a child and I proudly collected as many of her books as I could!

8. How long does it take you to prepare your blog posts?
I think it depends on what I’m reviewing. Some books and films are longer than others, or prompted me more to think and discuss certain things. I usually write a quick draft on my phone and then sit and edit it later in the day when I have more time. I’d say the entire process takes anywhere from 30 minutes to 1 hour – roughly. I have a good schedule though, and write some posts in advance. I also adhere to a strict upload time (7pm GMT) to keep me on track.

9. How do you feel about the blogging community?
I light up every single time I get a ‘Follow’, ‘Like’ or ‘Comment’ (so do press the Follow button to make me smile!). Everyone I’ve come across so far is lovely and supportive. I love that people share their own views, whether they agree with or conflict with my own. I think when you review books and films, it’s great that everyone has different opinions and interpretations – it’s healthy and enjoyable to debate and discuss things with others who are just as passionate as you are.

10. What do you think someone should do in order to have a successful blog?
There are so many things! Firstly, be confident in your ability. I think it’s also really important to get involved in the community – find similar blogs, read their posts, comment your feedback/opinions. Don’t be one of those relentless “advertiser bloggers” who only comment in order to advertise about their own website. It’s difficult to tell if it’s spam or not. Also, try and think of topical posts and select tags for your post that people are going to search. Don’t try and be too niche straight away. Those are my thoughts anyway.

Well, that was my Q&A, known as The Secret Life of a Blogger Tag! If you enjoyed it please click ‘Follow’ or ‘Like’ this post. If you have any other questions or want me to expand on any of these answers further, drop me a comment below and I’ll get back to you!

Thanks for reading!

– Judith

Leave a Reply

