• Title: Pride and Prejudice
  • Director: Joe Wright
  • Released: 2005

Pride and Prejudice is the film adaptation of Jane Austen’s novel of the same name. Keira Knightley plays the stubborn Elizabeth Bennett, and Matthew Macfadyen is the cold-shouldered Mr Darcy.

I really enjoyed reading the novel and so looked forward to watching a film adaptation. I found scenes with Mr Collins, the awkward Vicar desperate to find a wife, particularly amusing.

The relationship between the Bennett sisters was an accurate reflection of the close-knit family; I sympathised for the lovable Jane, I identified with the headstrong Elizabeth and pitied Mary, the intellectual, but often ignored, sister – just as I had done when reading the book.

However, the unfolding of Darcy and Elizabeth’s relationship was more evident in the novel than in the film. Macfadyen’s performance as a lovesick gentleman was too rushed – one moment Darcy and Elizabeth despised each other, the next they were begging to be married.

On the whole, I preferred the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. As a TV drama, it was much longer, and had much more time to expand the story-line, build up relationships and focus on smaller details. Should I ever want to watch the story of Pride and Prejudice again, I know which adaptation I’ll pick.

-Judith

Leave a Reply

